Hall Décor Mini-Series: Part 1

Hello there!

I have finally started with my first real “project”, the decor for my hallway. I have posted my very sketchy drawing before of the idea that I have for it. Because it will consist of four individual parts I have decided to do it in four bite size editions.

So let’s kick off part 1!

The first part I thought I would start with the easiest of the four – a simple pallet sign (or so I thought!)

Making the actual sign was not hard at all but when it came to the lettering I had a bit of a failure. I seriously thought I would be able to just paint it on, but it appeared rather quickly (thank goodness) that that would not be the case. It turned out my painting “handwriting” was as atrocious as my usual handwriting.

So after a lot of sanding and some googiling, I had fixed my mistake and found a solution. I used the “print out the words in Microsoft word” and draw it on with a ballpoint pen method, which really worked like a charm; it created nice grooves for the paint to run into.

Eventually it came out as this and I must say I truly love it! It actually came out better than I could have imagined!collage pallet sign

Hope you enjoyed it!

XoXo

Leave a Reply

